Did you see that coming?

The term “emerging” implies something new and “media” includes multiple platforms in communications, websites, social media, email, print advertising, newspapers, etc. The technology world is constantly changing as new developments are created. Emerging media matters because it changes the way we live.  The greatest impact current technology has on the way we live is in mobile phones and social media.

cellphone-timeline1

Image graphic credit.

Our society has become dependent upon cell phones to manage many aspects of our lives. According to Pew Research,

  • “67% of cell owners find themselves checking their phone for messages, alerts, or calls — even when they don’t notice their phone ringing or vibrating.”
  • “44% of cell owners have slept with their phone next to their bed because they wanted to make sure they didn’t miss any calls, text messages, or other updates during the night.”
  • “29% of cell owners describe their cell phone as “something they can’t imagine living without.””

Social media does not only impact our daily routine and the way we communicate but has infiltrated numerous areas of our society. Voting and the election process has been greatly influenced by social media.  In the 2012 elections, people used social media to share how they voted as well as to encourage others to vote.

  • 22% of registered voters have let others know how they voted on a social networking site such as Facebook or Twitter.
  • 20% of registered voters have encouraged others to vote by posting on a social networking site such as Facebook or Twitter. (Source)

In the current 2016 Presidential elections, political ad “spending on social media is estimated to account for more than half of the $1 billion budget for digital media.”

brief-history-of-social-media

Image graphic credit.

As I consider the current state of my life in regards to technology and emerging media, if I look back 5, 10, 15 years, I’d have to say, whoa, I didn’t see that coming!

2 thoughts on “Did you see that coming?

  1. I share the sentiments of your closing statement, Karon. As a member of Gen Y, I got my first cell phone in 1999. It was a Nokia single-color screen with a little antenna stub popping out the top. I think the best thing it had going for it (other than being able to make calls and text by pressing keypad buttons numerous times to spell things out!) was that it featured a very simple snake game to play. Thinking back, I can’t even remember if it included a calculator! Oh, how times have changed!

    Now I’m like the 67% of cell phone owners who check their phone without it even giving an alert. Like 44% of cell phone owners, my cell is at my bedside each night (although on a scheduled quiet mode), and I’m on board with the 29% of cell phone owners who can’t live without their cells—at least not for more than a day or so.

    I’m drunk with the nearly unlimited knowledge at the tip of my fingertips. It’s empowering. And now that we’re used to it, it’s hard to imagine what people did before carrying the world around in their pocket (via a smartphone)!

    Like

    1. While my first cell phone was before the Nokia you mention, I did have that same phone in 1999. And yes, it did have a calculator and an alarm clock feature.

      I actually did not go the smart phone route until a couple of years ago. To be honest it was a money issue.

      But now that I am a part of the iPhone crowd, I can’t imagine going back. The utility of a smartphone is well worth the price, and without it I would be lost (quite literally, Google Maps is my standby).

      Like

Leave a Reply

