The Culprit May Be You! Mobile Madness!

Social media sites like Facebook have shown that people are willing to share incredibly personal information. Is it different when you choose to share with “friends” than when your information is gathered without your complete knowledge and agreement? How do you know your data is safe?

According to a 2015 survey by Lookout, our perception of our mobile privacy is quite different from the reality and those that have a higher belief in thinking they understand mobile privacy, specifically, Millennials, are represented well in this graphic.

MobilePerceptionRisk

Consumers are willing to share personal information in exchange for a benefit.  Those apps you downloaded collect your data and use it to target and track you perhaps through a low frequency bluetooth connection and iBeacon technology. What other data are you unknowingly giving away?

“iBeacon is the name for Apple’s technology standard, which allows Mobile Apps (running on both iOS and Android devices) to listen for signals from beacons in the physical world and react accordingly. In essence, iBeacon technology allows Mobile Apps to understand their position on a micro-local scale, and deliver hyper-contextual content to users based on location.”

So you got a push notification of a sale at the store you just walked by in the mall.  Great!  Shop till you drop!  But do you know what you are giving up for that deal?  Who’s got your data?

3 thoughts on “The Culprit May Be You! Mobile Madness!

  1. I gave up long ago on trying to keep personal information off the internet. You can attempt to manage it, but the reality is that there are no real safeguards to prevent motivated criminals from getting a hold of your information.

    For example, I am part of a website that listed my birth date. I have asked them repeatedly to remove this easily accessible information due to security concerns. I have always been told that basically I was out of luck. And to be honest with you, I don’t think at this point having it removed would make a difference. Because it has been out there for years, so there is no way to scrub it from the internet.

    Like

  2. I think we are all guilty of sharing too much information, especially if we are trying to get a deal or a discount. I guess deciding which brands you are willing to interact with is important if the result is an overwhelming amount of emails. I start each day by deleting promotional emails. Delete, delete, delete.

    Like

  3. I am definitely guilty of sharing personal information to get a sale or discount on an items. I’ve noticed that a lot of retailers will promote and offer code that can only be used on their corresponding app. When a customer is then prompted to download the app, they have to enter in an email address, card info, and home address. Sometimes they will even ask for your phone number so you can enter in a code to prove that you’re not a robot.

    What annoys me (even though this is my own fault) is that after I’ve made my purchase I will receive a ton of emails from the brand. Even if I try to opt out, I will stop receiving emails for a few weeks but s soon as I visit the site again for two seconds, I am bombarded with emails again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

